Sohail joins Pakistan Champions Trophy squad as replacement

ISLAMABAD (AP) Allrounder Haris Sohail has replaced an unfit Umar Akmal in the Pakistan squad for the Champions Trophy.

Akmal failed a fitness test in Birmingham, England, last week during Pakistan's training camp and was told to return home.

The Pakistan Cricket Board said in a statement on Tuesday it conducted fitness tests on three players - Sohail, Umar Amin and Asif Zakir - in Lahore to select Akmal's replacement.


Mumbai Indians clinch thrilling IPL final against Supergiant

HYDERABAD, India (AP) Mumbai Indians won their third Indian Premier League title on Sunday, defeating Rising Pune Supergiant by just one run in a dramatic final which went to the last ball.

Supergiant lost three wickets in the last over - bowled by Mitchell Johnson (3-26) - to be restricted to 128-6 after Mumbai Indians scored 129-8. (MORE)

Mumbai Indians win IPL, beating Supergiant by 1 run in final

HYDERABAD, India (AP) Mumbai Indians won their third Indian Premier League title after defeating Rising Pune Supergiant by just one run in a cliffhanger final which went to the last ball on Sunday.

Needing seven runs off the last five deliveries, Australian seamer Mitchell Johnson dismissed Manoj Tiwary and Steve Smith off successive deliveries. (MORE)

Mumbai Indians march into IPL final, beat Knight Riders

BANGALORE, India (AP) Leg-spinner Karn Sharma and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah destroyed Kolkata Knight Riders by sharing seven wickets as Mumbai Indians stormed into the final of the Indian Premier League playoffs with a six-wicket victory on Friday.

The two-time champions Mumbai Indians now meet Rising Pune Supergiant in the final on Sunday. (MORE)

Karthik replaces injured Pandey in Champions Trophy squad

NEW DELHI (AP) Defending champion India has replaced injured Manish Pandey with Dinesh Karthik in its Champions Trophy squad.

Pandey was ruled out due to a left side strain during Kolkata Knight Riders' practice session before its Indian Premier League eliminator against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Wednesday. (MORE)

Knight Riders end defending champions Sunrisers' run in IPL

BANGALORE, India (AP) Kolkata Knight Riders stayed in contention for their third Indian Premier League title after beating defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad by seven wickets using the Duckworth/Lewis method in a rain-hit eliminator on Wednesday.

Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir hit a brisk unbeaten 32 off 19 balls and carried his team to 48-3 with four balls to spare after their target was revised to 48 runs off six overs. (MORE)

Pakistan bans and fines spinner Nawaz

ISLAMABAD (AP) The Pakistan Cricket Board has banned left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz for two months and fined him 200,000 rupees ($1,900) for violating its anti-corruption code.

The PCB said in a statement on Wednesday that the ban, starting from May 16, could be reduced to one month if Nawaz fulfills certain conditions that include no further breach of its anti-corruption code. (MORE)

Cricket Australia rejects mediation in player pay impasse

SYDNEY (AP) Cricket Australia says it's unacceptable that the union representing top players in a bitter pay dispute wants the impasse to be referred to independent mediation.

The Australian Cricketers' Association has called for the dispute, which has led to warnings of a player boycott of this year's Ashes series against England, to be put before a mediator. (MORE)

Allrounder Marcus Stoinis passed fit for Champions Trophy

SYDNEY (AP) Australia allrounder Marcus Stoinis has been passed fit to play at next month's Champions Trophy cricket tournament in England.

The 27-year-old Stoinis suffered a shoulder injury while playing in the Indian Premier League earlier this month, but has recovered well since returning to Australia and will leave for England with his teammates on Thursday. (MORE)

West Indies hosting India for 5ODIs, T20 in June

ST. JOHN'S, Antigua (AP) Just two days after the Champions Trophy next month, the West Indies will host India in five one-day cricket internationals and a Twenty20.

The West Indies Cricket Board announced the itinerary on Tuesday. (MORE)