MLB

#71
Wade Davis
ERA S K
2.38 25 57
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225 NFBC ADP: 87.07
Position: RPBorn: 9/7/1985 Birthplace: Lake Wales, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Devil Rays (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 18 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 25th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Friday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Wade Davis improved to 3-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Wednesday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:38 AM PT9:38 AM MT10:38 AM CT11:38 AM ET11:38 ET15:38 GMT23:38 8:38 AM MST10:38 AM EST11:08 AM VEN19:38 UAE10:38 AM CT-Wade Davis allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-2 on Sunday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Davis allowed no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Davis did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis hasn't been shaky very often and here he notched his 24th save in 24 tries.
Aug. 5 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 23rd save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 7-4 on Saturday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Wade Davis fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-8 on Thursday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis allowed Paul Goldschmidt's third homer of the game in the ninth that broke an 8-8 tie, and then J.D. Martinez followed with his own shot. Davis had given up one homer in 79 1/3 innings since the beginning of the 2016 season.
July 30 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Davis recorded his 22nd save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Sunday. Davis did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis has yet to blow a save.
July 29 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 21st save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 2.06 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 24 10:59 PM PT11:59 PM MT12:59 AM CT1:59 AM ET1:59 ET5:59 GMT13:59 10:59 PM MST12:59 AM EST1:29 AM VEN9:59 UAE12:59 AM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 20th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 22 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 19th save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Saturday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 18 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 18th save, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Monday. Davis did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis has not blown a save in 24 consecutive chances, going back to September 2016 with Kansas City, but Monday wasn't easy. After yielding two runs to make it a one-run game, the Braves loaded the bases but Davis was able to get Johan Camargo to fly out to end the game. ''I've probably had two or three this year where I just don't know where anything is going,'' Davis said. ''With the outcome that the team wins, I'm not even upset."
July 14 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-8 on Friday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 12 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Davis allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the NL All-Stars lost to the AL All-Stars 2-1 on Tuesday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis yielded the homer to Robinson Cano in the 10th. Davis, who has allowed a total of one homer in 76 appearances the past two years, got beat on a low breaking ball.
July 7 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Wade Davis walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Friday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 5 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Wade Davis allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-3 on Wednesday. Davis did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 29 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 16th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Wade Davis allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis threw a wild pitch that scored a run before striking out a swinging Ryan Zimmerman to end the game. He yielded three hits for the second time in five starts after not allowing that many in any of his first 23 appearances.
June 24 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Davis recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Saturday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.37 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis has yet to blow a save this season and is making a case for his manager Joe Maddon to give him a spot on the NL All-Star team.
June 21 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Wade Davis did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
June 20 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Davis allowed no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Monday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 1.48 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis had runners on second and third with one out, but struck out Wil Myers and got Hunter Renfroe to ground out for his 14th save in 14 chances.
June 16 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Wade Davis allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-5 on Friday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.54 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
June 11 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 13th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-5 on Sunday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 1.21 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis is still yet to blow a save in a Cubs uniform, though he's now allowed three runs in five innings over his last five appearances after not giving up an earned run in any of his first 18. The offseason pickup still remains near the top of the list in the fantasy closer department.
June 9 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Wade Davis allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Friday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 0.84 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-The Cubs have taken Davis off the paternity list.
Analysis: The 31-year-old Davis is 2-0 with a microscopic 0.89 ERA and 12 saves in his first season with Chicago after he was acquired in an offseason trade with Kansas City.
June 3 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Saturday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 0.89 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis got his first save chance and made his first appearance since May 24 as the Cubs ended a six-game losing streak.
May 25 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Wade Davis recorded his 10th save, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 0.98 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis had allowed only one unearned run in his first 18 appearances before struggling Wednesday, though he remained perfect in save opportunities. He served up a homer for the first time since 2015.
May 18 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Wade Davis recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Wednesday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis has been outstanding and one of the game's top closers early on this season. He has not allowed a home run in relief in his last 64 1/3 innings since Sept. 24, 2015, the second-longest major league streak behind Baltimore LHP Zach Britton's 72-inning stretch.
May 17 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Wade Davis allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Tuesday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his eighth save, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Friday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Wade Davis did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Sunday. Davis struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.56 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)6:51 PM CT-Wade Davis walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Thursday. Davis did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Wade Davis recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Davis struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.
May 3 11:13 PM PT12:13 AM MT1:13 AM CT2:13 AM ET2:13 ET6:13 GMT14:13 11:13 PM MST1:13 AM EST1:43 AM VEN10:13 UAE1:13 AM CT-Wade Davis did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3 on Tuesday. Davis struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Wade Davis recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Davis struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.58 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Davis is perfect in save opportunities and also owns a 2-0 record. He's allowed four hits and two walks while striking out 12 over 10 1/3 scoreless innings thus far.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 TB 2 2 0 - 0 6 6 1 36.1 33 19 15 2 13 1 36 1.27 3.72
2010 TB 12 10 0 - 0 29 29 0 168.0 165 77 76 24 62 2 113 1.35 4.07
2011 TB 11 10 0 - 0 29 29 1 184.0 190 96 91 23 63 1 105 1.38 4.45
2012 TB 3 0 0 - 1 54 0 0 70.1 48 20 19 5 29 2 87 1.09 2.43
2013 KC 8 11 0 - 0 31 24 0 135.1 169 89 80 15 58 2 114 1.68 5.32
2014 KC 9 2 3 - 6 71 0 0 72.0 38 8 8 0 23 0 109 0.85 1.00
2015 KC 8 1 17 - 18 69 0 0 67.1 33 8 7 3 20 1 78 0.79 0.94
2016 KC 2 1 27 - 30 45 0 0 43.1 33 9 9 0 16 0 47 1.13 1.87
2017 ChC 3 1 25 - 25 43 0 0 41.2 28 12 11 4 22 1 57 1.20 2.38
Career 58 38 72 - 80 377 88 2 818.1 737 338 316 76 306 10 746 1.27 3.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 TB 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 TB 30 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2012 TB 54 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2013 KC 31 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 378 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 TB Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 1 3 0 7 3.60
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 1 3 0 7 3.60
2011 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
2014 KC Total 2 0 0 - 0 12 0 0 14.1 8 2 1 0 2 0 20 0.63
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.1 3 1 1 0 2 0 3 2.70
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.0 3 1 0 0 0 0 10 0.00
2015 KC Total 1 0 4 - 4 8 0 0 10.2 6 0 0 0 3 0 18 0.00
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 4.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
    LCS 1 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 2.2 2 0 0 0 2 0 5 0.00
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 4.0 3 0 0 0 0 0 8 0.00
Career 4 0 4 - 4 23 1 0 32.1 22 4 3 1 9 0 46 0.84

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 KC Total 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 360 98 88 94.5 47.49
Curveball 167 86 79 83.3 22.03
Changeup 1 90 90 90 .13
Cut Fastball 230 94 86 90.5 30.34


@STATS_Insights