MLB

#53
Ken Giles
ERA S K
3.63 11 21
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 85.43
Position: RPBorn: 9/20/1990 Birthplace: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Phillies (2011)


Latest News
May 17 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Wednesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his 10th save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Thursday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Jake Marisnick spared Giles a blown save by throwing out Jacoby Ellsbury at the plate to end the game. Though he's had some shaky moments, the Houston closer is tied for the AL lead in saves and converted all but one of his 11 opportunities.
May 10 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)6:06 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-2 on Wednesday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 7 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Sunday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 6 10:19 AM PT11:19 AM MT12:19 PM CT1:19 PM ET13:19 ET17:19 GMT1:19 10:19 AM MST12:19 PM EST12:49 PM VEN21:19 UAE12:19 PM CT-Ken Giles improved to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-6 on Friday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 2 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Ken Giles recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Monday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Giles was shaky early on this season, but has been dominant lately. Houston's closer has allowed only one hit in six scoreless innings over his last six appearances, while going 5 for 5 in save opportunities during that stretch.
Apr. 30 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET20:47 ET0:47 GMT8:47 5:47 PM MST7:47 PM EST8:17 PM VEN4:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-2 on Sunday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 9-4 on Friday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Phi 3 1 1 - 1 44 0 0 45.2 25 7 6 1 11 1 64 0.79 1.18
2015 Phi 6 3 15 - 20 69 0 0 70.0 59 23 14 2 25 2 87 1.20 1.80
2016 Hou 2 5 15 - 20 69 0 0 65.2 60 32 30 8 25 1 102 1.29 4.11
2017 Hou 1 1 11 - 12 19 0 0 17.1 12 7 7 0 7 0 21 1.10 3.63
Career 12 10 42 - 53 201 0 0 198.2 156 69 57 11 68 4 274 1.13 2.58



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 133 100 94 97.2 47.16
Slider 149 90 82 86 52.84


@STATS_Insights