Mike Conway victory validates Ed Carpenter Racing

(AP Photo/Alex Gallardo)

LONG BEACH, Calif. (AP) A day after Dario Franchitti announced his retirement, another IndyCar driver said he was also getting out of his car.

Ed Carpenter's decision in November to race only on ovals and to turn his car over to a more skilled driver on road and street courses was largely overshadowed by Franchitti's sudden retirement because of injuries suffered in a crash a month earlier.

Carpenter wanted Mike Conway, who had willingly walked away from ovals a year earlier, behind the wheel and said hiring the British driver would "strengthen our team by competing for victories at every single event."


IndyCar Leaders: Points
1 W.Power 93 1
2 M.Conway 66 1
3 S.Pagenaud 60 0
4 H.Castroneves 55 0
5 R.Hunter-Reay 54 0
6 S.Dixon 51 0
7 C.Munoz 48 0
8 J.Montoya 47 0
9 M.Aleshin 46 0
10 S.Saavedra 42 0
View Full Leaderboard


© Copyright 2014 by STATS LLC. Any Commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.