Results | Fixtures | Standings | Teams | Home |

All Blacks in Chicago for exhibition

(AP Photo/Nam Y. Huh)

CHICAGO (AP) America's history on rugby's world stage can be summed up in two sentences.

Team USA took home the gold from both the 1920 and 1924 Olympics. And then, just like the Chicago Cubs, took the rest of the century off.

The timing couldn't be much better for a rare stateside visit from New Zealand's storied All Blacks, who face the USA's Golden Eagles on Saturday at sold-out Soldier Field (capacity: 61,500). Even though it's only an exhibition, the match will be televised nationally on NBC and provide a snapshot of where USA Rugby - after nearly a decade of investment and effort - stands on the road back to respectability.


© Copyright 2014 by STATS LLC. Any Commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.